spencer gorge

Home Regions of OntarioHamilton, Halton, Brant Region

Spencer Gorge - Tews Falls/ Webster's Falls Conservation Area

Located in the small community of Greensville, the Spencer Gorge-Tew's Falls/Webster's Falls Conservation Area contains two of Hamilton's most popular waterfalls, both located within Spencer Gorge.

Tew's Falls is 41 metres (134.5 ft) and can be reached by a short hike from the Webster Falls Parking Lot. There is also limited parking available on Harvest Road. This is a beautiful cascading waterfall with several great lookout points and hiking trails.

Webster's Falls, named after Joseph Webster who purchased 78 acres in 1819 including the falls and built several mills on his property. Webster's Falls is apx. 30 metres high and is a tiered waterfall. A lovely cobblestone arched bridge built in 1933 connects both sides of the creek above the falls.

In 1966 Spencer Gorge was acquired by the Hamilton Conservation Authority. There is a fee to enter this conservation area.

*From May 12, 2018 to October 28, 2018 (weather permitting), parking on weekends and holiday Mondays will be located at 1000 Highway 5 West at Christie Lake Conservation Area. A shuttle service will drop visitors off at Tew Falls and Greensville Optimist Park to access Webster Falls. No parking will be permitted in HCA lots during these peak periods. For more information, please visit www.conservationhamilton.ca/shuttle*

Places to Explore

Coote's Paradise
Dundurn Castle
Eramosa Karst Conservation Area
Rattlesnake Point Conservation Area
Royal Botanical Gardens
Silver Creek Conservation Area
Spencer Gorge-Tew's Falls/Webster's Falls Conservation Area

Ontario Towns and Cities

Dundas, Ontario
Georgetown, Ontario
Hamilton, Ontario

Explore by Region

R1: Southwest Ontario
R2: Niagara Canada
R3: Hamilton, Halton & Brant
R4: Huron, Perth, Waterloo & Wellington
R5: Greater Toronto Area
R6: York, Durham & the Hills of Headwaters
R7: Bruce Peninsula, Southern Georgian Bay & Lake Simcoe
R8: Kawarthas & Northumberland
R9: South Eastern Ontario
R10: Ottawa & Countryside
R11: Haliburton Highlands to the Ottawa Valley
R12: Muskoka, Parry Sound & Algonquin Park
R13a: North Eastern Ontario
R13b: Sault Ste. Marie – Algoma
R13c: Northwest Ontario