port colborne

Home Regions of Ontario Niagara Canada Region

Port Colborne, Ontario

The City of Port Colborne was founded in 1833 and named after Sir John Colborne, a lieutenant-governor of Upper Canada. The town began as a port of entry for ships entering the Welland Canal from Lake Erie.

Prior to the building of the Welland Canal a small community existed about one mile north of Port Colborne. Anyone travelling to Port Colborne today may notice that the town actually has two city centres.

The reason for this is the original settlement referred to first as Petersburg and then Stonebridge was a separate community of about 1,100 inhabitants and consisted of the Humberstone Post Office, two butcher shops, a flour and feed store, three churches, three carriage shops, two harness shops, a barber shop, a jewlery shop, a cooper shop, six hotels, three shoe stores, a tailor shop, a baker, a manufacturer of agricultural implements, a gun shop, a planing mill, a saw mill, a marble works, a cabinet shop and a few more shops catering to whatever needs a settler in 1880 may require. Eventually this community would merge to become the City of Port Colborne.

Over the course of four Welland Canals, Port Colborne has managed to remain the entry point for ships traversing the Welland Canal. Port Colborne became fashionable with American tourists in the late 1800ā€™s and many old mansions and summer homes line the lakeshore.

Port Colborne celebrates Canal Days, a weekend celebration held every summer.

welland canal

port colborne harbour

port colborne pier

Places to Explore

Balls Falls Conservation Area
Niagara Glen
Niagara's Old Forts
Niagara Parks School of Horticulture
Niagara Wineries
Point Abino Lighthouse
Queenston Heights Park
Shorthills Provincial Park
The Welland Canal

Ontario Towns and Cities

Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Port Colborne, Ontario

Explore by Region

R1: Southwest Ontario
R2: Niagara Canada
R3: Hamilton, Halton & Brant
R4: Huron, Perth, Waterloo & Wellington
R5: Greater Toronto Area
R6: York, Durham & the Hills of Headwaters
R7: Bruce Peninsula, Southern Georgian Bay & Lake Simcoe
R8: Kawarthas & Northumberland
R9: South Eastern Ontario
R10: Ottawa & Countryside
R11: Haliburton Highlands to the Ottawa Valley
R12: Muskoka, Parry Sound & Algonquin Park
R13a: North Eastern Ontario
R13b: Sault Ste. Marie ā€“ Algoma
R13c: Northwest Ontario