fort niagara

Home Regions of Ontario Niagara Canada Region

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario

Niagara-on-the-Lake is located on the west side of the Niagara River where it empties into Lake Ontario. The town was originally the capital of Upper Canada. The town is located directly across from Fort Niagara, on the American side of the Niagara River.

In 1792 Graves Simcoe, the first lieutenant-governor of Upper Canada, changed the name to Newark, however shortly after his departure to York Toronto) and the naming of a new capital the townspeople petitioned to have their old name of Niagara restored.

In 1797 the town was officially called Niagara. When the settlements of Drummondville, Clifton and Elgin combined to form the city of Niagara Falls in 1861 the town of Niagara added the “on-the-Lake” to distinguish itself from Niagara Falls, Ontario, a few kilometres to the south. The old town of Niagara-on-the-Lake joined the Township of Niagara in 1970 combining the villages of Virgil, Queenston, St Davids, Homer and McNab to become a regional town retaining the name Niagara-on-the-Lake. To differentiate between the original old town of Niagara-on-the-Lake and the much larger regional town the name “Old Town” is often given when referring to the historic old town of Niagara.

The old town of Niagara-on-the-Lake was designated as a National Historic District in 2004 because of its unique collection of preserved architecture dating from the early to mid 1800’s.

Places to Explore

Balls Falls Conservation Area
Niagara Glen
Niagara's Old Forts
Niagara Parks School of Horticulture
Niagara Wineries
Point Abino Lighthouse
Queenston Heights Park
Shorthills Provincial Park
The Welland Canal

Ontario Towns and Cities

Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Port Colborne, Ontario

Explore by Region

R1: Southwest Ontario
R2: Niagara Canada
R3: Hamilton, Halton & Brant
R4: Huron, Perth, Waterloo & Wellington
R5: Greater Toronto Area
R6: York, Durham & the Hills of Headwaters
R7: Bruce Peninsula, Southern Georgian Bay & Lake Simcoe
R8: Kawarthas & Northumberland
R9: South Eastern Ontario
R10: Ottawa & Countryside
R11: Haliburton Highlands to the Ottawa Valley
R12: Muskoka, Parry Sound & Algonquin Park
R13a: North Eastern Ontario
R13b: Sault Ste. Marie – Algoma
R13c: Northwest Ontario