niagara falls

Home Regions of Ontario Niagara Canada Region

Niagara Falls, Ontario

The City of Niagara Falls derived its name from the famous Niagara Falls, but long before that the area surrounding the falls was made up of three communities; Drummondville, Clifton and Elgin.

In 1861 the three communities were combined to form Niagara Falls, which became incorporated as a city in 1904. Even by this time the community was seeing enormous growth in the tourism industry. With the construction of bridges linking the U.S to Canada as well as a burgeoning automobile industry Niagara Falls was becoming the premiere North American tourist destination. Hotels began to spring up catering to this new tourist industry. The first ever museum in Canada was opened in 1827 by Thomas Barnett.

Because of its natural beauty, moderate winters and close proximity to the American border the city of Niagara Falls soon became the Honeymoon Capital, with hundreds of newlyweds flocking to view the falls and take in the many sites and attractions.

Places to Explore

Balls Falls Conservation Area
Niagara Glen
Niagara's Old Forts
Niagara Parks School of Horticulture
Niagara Wineries
Point Abino Lighthouse
Queenston Heights Park
Shorthills Provincial Park
The Welland Canal

Ontario Towns and Cities

Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Port Colborne, Ontario

Explore by Region

R1: Southwest Ontario
R2: Niagara Canada
R3: Hamilton, Halton & Brant
R4: Huron, Perth, Waterloo & Wellington
R5: Greater Toronto Area
R6: York, Durham & the Hills of Headwaters
R7: Bruce Peninsula, Southern Georgian Bay & Lake Simcoe
R8: Kawarthas & Northumberland
R9: South Eastern Ontario
R10: Ottawa & Countryside
R11: Haliburton Highlands to the Ottawa Valley
R12: Muskoka, Parry Sound & Algonquin Park
R13a: North Eastern Ontario
R13b: Sault Ste. Marie – Algoma
R13c: Northwest Ontario