bracebridge ontario

Home Regions of OntarioMuskoka, Parry Sound and Algonquin Park Region

Bracebridge, Ontario

The Town of Bracebridge is situated along the northern branch of the Muskoka River within the District Municipality of Muskoka. It is a popular four-season vacation destination and is known as "The Heart of Muskoka".

In 1858 the Muskoka Colonization Road was begun at Washago,and connecting with the Peterson Road at Muskoka Falls by 1861 it had reached the north branch of the Muskoka River. At this time there was a single inhabitant John Beal was the only inhabitant. He had ventured this far north by canoe before the colonization road had yet reached this point. John Beal built his tiny log cabin where Manitoba Street is today.

The Free Grant Land Act of 1868 saw the area open up to settlement and R. J. Oliver, a land agent from Barrie, Ontario became Crown Lands Agent for the Muskoka District. James and Robert Cooper were contracted to extend the Colonization Road and set to work building a bridge to replace the large pine tree that had been laid across the river. James Cooper would also bring his family and erect a boarding house to accommodate the men hired to work on the road.

Once a road had been built more settlers arrived. Hiram James McDonald built a tavern on the south side of the falls named The Royal Hotel. David Leith, another early settler built a house on the north side of the Falls. A few years later he sold this property to William Holditch, who had it surveyed into town lots.

The first wedding ceremony performed at North Falls (Bracebridge) was by a Methodist minister named Reverend Wilson in 1866. The bride was his daughter, Elizabeth and the bridegroom was William Holditch.

In 1864 a post office was established and Alexander Bailey, a local entrepreneur was the first postmaster. The settlement known as North Falls was renamed Bracebridge by William Dawson LeSuer, a secretary of the Postmaster General's Department. It is said that he took the name Bracebridge from a book he was reading at the time by Washington Irving called "Bracebridge Hall".

Bracebridge soon became the metropolis of the Free Grant District, with businesses springing up to cater to the needs of the settlers. The village was incorporated in 1875 and became a town in 1889. In 1894 Bracebridge became the first town in Ontario to have its own hydro generating station.

bracebridge 1910
Manitoba Street, Bracebridge, Ontario, c1910
Courtesy of the Toronto Public Library

Places to Explore

Algonquin Provincial Park
Almaguin Highlands
Midlothian Ridge/Screaming Heads
Seguin Recreational Trail

Ontario Cities and Towns

Bala, Ontario
Bear Lake/Sprucedale, Ontario
Bracebridge, Ontario
Port Carling, Ontario
South River, Ontario

Explore by Region

R1: Southwest Ontario
R2: Niagara Canada
R3: Hamilton, Halton & Brant
R4: Huron, Perth, Waterloo & Wellington
R5: Greater Toronto Area
R6: York, Durham & the Hills of Headwaters
R7: Bruce Peninsula, Southern Georgian Bay & Lake Simcoe
R8: Kawarthas & Northumberland
R9: South Eastern Ontario
R10: Ottawa & Countryside
R11: Haliburton Highlands to the Ottawa Valley
R12: Muskoka, Parry Sound & Algonquin Park
R13a: North Eastern Ontario
R13b: Sault Ste. Marie – Algoma
R13c: Northwest Ontario