kawartha region

Home Regions of Ontario Kawarthas & Northumberland Region

Trent-Severn Waterway

The Trent-Severn Waterway links Georgian Bay with Lake Ontario through a series of 45 locks. The route is 386 km long (240 miles) beginning with Lock 1 at Trenton and ending at Lock 45 at Port Severn on Lake Huron's Georgian Bay. Two of the locks located at Kirkfield and Peterborough are hydraulic lift locks. The locks rise 182 metres at Balsam Lake and then drop 80 m to Lake Huron.

Originally the waterway was planned as a military route. By the time the first locks were constructed in 1833 the threat of war with the U.S. had diminished and the locks, which were built in stages from 1822-1920 were used primarily for commercial use.

In 1972 Parks Canada overtook the operation of the Trent-Severn Waterway and today it is used as a recreational waterway. The Trent-Severn Waterway is a National Historic Site of Canada and has been referred to as "one of the finest interconnected systems of navigation in the world".

Places to Explore

Trent-Severn Waterway
• Lock 21, Peterborough Lift Lock
• Lock 31, Buckhorn
• Lock 32, Bobcaygeon
• Lock 34, Fenelon Falls
• Lock 35, Rosedale
• Lock 36, Kirkfield Lift Lock

Ontario Cities and Towns

Buckhorn, Ontario
Bobcaygeon, Ontario
Coboconk, Ontario
Fenelon Falls, Ontario
Peterborough, Ontario

Explore by Region

R1: Southwest Ontario
R2: Niagara Canada
R3: Hamilton, Halton & Brant
R4: Huron, Perth, Waterloo & Wellington
R5: Greater Toronto Area
R6: York, Durham & the Hills of Headwaters
R7: Bruce Peninsula, Southern Georgian Bay & Lake Simcoe
R8: Kawarthas & Northumberland
R9: South Eastern Ontario
R10: Ottawa & Countryside
R11: Haliburton Highlands to the Ottawa Valley
R12: Muskoka, Parry Sound & Algonquin Park
R13a: North Eastern Ontario
R13b: Sault Ste. Marie – Algoma
R13c: Northwest Ontario