kawartha region

Home Regions of Ontario Kawarthas & Northumberland Region

Fenelon Falls, Ontario

The village of Fenelon Falls is located in the Kawartha Lakes Region of Central Ontario. Known as the "Jewel of the Kawarthas". Fenelon Falls is also home to Lock 34 along the Trent-Severn Waterway.

Fenelon Falls was incorporated into a village in 1874. The area around Fenelon Falls was surveyed between 1823-1835. Many early settlers were part of the group of Irish immigrants brought to the Kawartha Lakes Region by Peter Robinson, whom the City of Peterborough is named after.

Originally called Cameron Falls, the name was eventually changed to Fenelon Falls in honour of François de Salignac de la Mothe-Fénelon, a Sulpician missionary who ministered to the Native people north of Lake Ontario from 1668-1670.

With water-power generated by the falls, mills began to spring up, bringing more settlers and prosperity to the area. However the remote location made the transfer of goods from major markets extremely difficult. Lock 34 was constructed in 1885 allowing boats to travel between Sturgeon and Cameron Lakes. The entire length of the Trent-Severn Waterway had yet to be completed.

Fenelon Falls is a popular summer tourist destination, especially with boaters travelling the Trent-Sehhhvern Waterway. Restaurants and groceries are within easy walking distance of the canal.

Places to Explore

Trent-Severn Waterway
• Lock 21, Peterborough Lift Lock
• Lock 31, Buckhorn
• Lock 32, Bobcaygeon
• Lock 34, Fenelon Falls
• Lock 35, Rosedale
• Lock 36, Kirkfield Lift Lock

Ontario Cities and Towns

Buckhorn, Ontario
Bobcaygeon, Ontario
Coboconk, Ontario
Fenelon Falls, Ontario
Peterborough, Ontario

Explore by Region

R1: Southwest Ontario
R2: Niagara Canada
R3: Hamilton, Halton & Brant
R4: Huron, Perth, Waterloo & Wellington
R5: Greater Toronto Area
R6: York, Durham & the Hills of Headwaters
R7: Bruce Peninsula, Southern Georgian Bay & Lake Simcoe
R8: Kawarthas & Northumberland
R9: South Eastern Ontario
R10: Ottawa & Countryside
R11: Haliburton Highlands to the Ottawa Valley
R12: Muskoka, Parry Sound & Algonquin Park
R13a: North Eastern Ontario
R13b: Sault Ste. Marie – Algoma
R13c: Northwest Ontario