kawartha region

Home Regions of Ontario Kawarthas & Northumberland Region

Buckhorn, Ontario

Buckhorn, Ontario is a small community along the Trent-Severn Waterway in the Kawartha region of central Ontario.

The area's first settler was an Irish immigrant named John Hall. In 1828 Hall purchased property on both sides of the rapids at Buckhorn Lake. Hall built a dam and mill and the tiny settlement became known as Hall's Rapids.

When the first post office arrived the name was changed to Hall's Bridge and John Hall became the first postmaster. Mr. Hall proudly displayed an assortment of deer antlers on the outside walls of his mills and the tiny settlement was nicknamed Buckhorn. The name stuck and in 1936 Hall's Bridge officially became known as Buckhorn.

Buckhorn was primarily a logging community. With the completion of a section of the Trent-Severn Waterway in 1887 an additional 129 kms (80 miles) of navigational waterway was created with locks at Buckhorn, Burleigh Falls and Fenelon Falls. By the 1970's the locks had been upgraded to facilitate recreational boating along the Trent-Severn Waterway and Buckhorn became a popular tourist destination for boaters and cottagers alike.


Places to Explore

Trent-Severn Waterway
• Lock 21, Peterborough Lift Lock
• Lock 31, Buckhorn
• Lock 32, Bobcaygeon
• Lock 34, Fenelon Falls
• Lock 35, Rosedale
• Lock 36, Kirkfield Lift Lock

Ontario Cities and Towns

Buckhorn, Ontario
Bobcaygeon, Ontario
Coboconk, Ontario
Fenelon Falls, Ontario
Peterborough, Ontario

Explore by Region

R1: Southwest Ontario
R2: Niagara Canada
R3: Hamilton, Halton & Brant
R4: Huron, Perth, Waterloo & Wellington
R5: Greater Toronto Area
R6: York, Durham & the Hills of Headwaters
R7: Bruce Peninsula, Southern Georgian Bay & Lake Simcoe
R8: Kawarthas & Northumberland
R9: South Eastern Ontario
R10: Ottawa & Countryside
R11: Haliburton Highlands to the Ottawa Valley
R12: Muskoka, Parry Sound & Algonquin Park
R13a: North Eastern Ontario
R13b: Sault Ste. Marie – Algoma
R13c: Northwest Ontario