kawartha region

Home Regions of Ontario Kawarthas & Northumberland Region

Bobcaygeon, Ontario

In 1832, two years after the area had been surveyed, Thomas Need purchased 3,000 in the Township of Verulam. The Township of Verulam was part of Peterborough County until 1850, when Victoria County was formed. Thomas Need built several mills and a store that serviced the area. The small community became known as Bobcaygeon, an Ojibwe word meaning "at the shallow currents".

In 1833 the first lock of the Trent-Severn Waterway was built at Bobcaygeon connecting Sturgeon and Pigeon Lakes. In 1857 a branch of the Grand Trunk Railway ran from Lindsay to Bobcaygeon, which spurred settlement to the area. A colonization road ran north from Bobcaygeon and lots were quickly taken up.

The village of Bobcaygeon was laid out on the mainland, but many settlers preferred the rocky islands between Sturgeon and Pigeon Lakes. In 1876 Bobcaygeon was incorporated as a village.

Bobcaygeon is a popular tourist destination and is often referred to as the "hub of the Kawarthas". A lift bridge separates the main street as boats along the Trent Severn Waterway pass directly through the village.

Places to Explore

Trent-Severn Waterway
• Lock 21, Peterborough Lift Lock
• Lock 31, Buckhorn
• Lock 32, Bobcaygeon
• Lock 34, Fenelon Falls
• Lock 35, Rosedale
• Lock 36, Kirkfield Lift Lock

Ontario Cities and Towns

Buckhorn, Ontario
Bobcaygeon, Ontario
Coboconk, Ontario
Fenelon Falls, Ontario
Peterborough, Ontario

Explore by Region

R1: Southwest Ontario
R2: Niagara Canada
R3: Hamilton, Halton & Brant
R4: Huron, Perth, Waterloo & Wellington
R5: Greater Toronto Area
R6: York, Durham & the Hills of Headwaters
R7: Bruce Peninsula, Southern Georgian Bay & Lake Simcoe
R8: Kawarthas & Northumberland
R9: South Eastern Ontario
R10: Ottawa & Countryside
R11: Haliburton Highlands to the Ottawa Valley
R12: Muskoka, Parry Sound & Algonquin Park
R13a: North Eastern Ontario
R13b: Sault Ste. Marie – Algoma
R13c: Northwest Ontario