tobermory ontario

Home Regions of OntarioBruce Peninsula, Southern Georgian Bay and Lake Simcoe

Tobermory, Ontario

Located at the northern tip of the Bruce Peninsula is the community of Tobermory. Named after the capital city on the Isle of Mull in Scotland, Tobermory is home to the Fathom Five National Marine Park, the Bruce Peninsula National Park and the popular tourist destination known as Flowerpot Island. Tobermory is well known as a world class SCUBA diving destination.

The clean clear waters of the Fathom Five national marine Park offers some of the best freshwater diving in all of Canada. The park is made up of 45 square miles of clear water and an archipelago of 19 islands. With over 20 shipwrecks and a series of underwater cliffs and caves the area attracts snorkelers and diving enthusiasts from around the world.

Tobermory is the northern terminus of the Bruce trail. The trail follows the edge of the Niagara Escarpment, for almost 900 km (560 mi). The trail is named after the county, which was named after James Bruce, 8th Earl of Elgin who was Governor General of the Province of Canada from 1847 to 1854.

Visitors to Tobermory can explore twin harbours, known by locals as Big Tub and Little Tub Harbour. Big Tub Harbour is Canada's largest natural freshwater harbour. The MS Chi-Cheemaun passenger-car ferry connects Tobermory to Manitoulin Island on Lake Huron.


Places to Explore

Bruce Peninsula National Park
Cove Island Lighthouse
Fathom Five National Marine Park
MS Chi-Cheemaun
Wasaga Beach, Ontario

Ontario Towns and Cities

Neustadt, Ontario
Owen Sound, Ontario
Tobermory, Ontario

Explore by Region

R1: Southwest Ontario
R2: Niagara Canada
R3: Hamilton, Halton & Brant
R4: Huron, Perth, Waterloo & Wellington
R5: Greater Toronto Area
R6: York, Durham & the Hills of Headwaters
R7: Bruce Peninsula, Southern Georgian Bay & Lake Simcoe
R8: Kawarthas & Northumberland
R9: South Eastern Ontario
R10: Ottawa & Countryside
R11: Haliburton Highlands to the Ottawa Valley
R12: Muskoka, Parry Sound & Algonquin Park
R13a: North Eastern Ontario
R13b: Sault Ste. Marie – Algoma
R13c: Northwest Ontario